NexTV Africa & Middle East

Complete News World

Here’s everything you need to know about the Euro Opening Ceremony

The euro begins to bubble up on Friday with the duel between Italy and Turkey. But not only. A little before that, the traditional opening ceremony will present a “simplified” show with former footballers in particular Alessandro Nesta, Francesco Totti or Bono and Andre Bocelli.

alessandro Nesta and Francesco Totti will launch on Friday evening the 16th Euro football, necessarily, in Rome, before making way for Andrea Bocelli and a virtual performance by Martin Garrix, Bono and The Edge.

Simplified due to the health context, the traditional opening ceremony will precede kick-off at 9pm. For Turkey-Italy, the first Group A match at Stadio Olimpico, by a few minutes.

The two Italian world champions of 2006, who beat the French in the final, will welcome fans of the tournament, while the Italian ocean is committed to receiving about 16,000 spectators, a quarter of its usual capacity.

Thus, UEFA includes two former Roma derby stars who played in the same stadium, Alessandro Nesta who led the Lazio defense from 1993 to 2002 before leaving for Milan, while Francesco Totti remained the idol of only one club, Roma, where he played 25 seasons.

“Happy Reunion”

The authority promises a “feeling of joyful reunification among members of the European football family”, after a difficult year marked by the epidemic, which led to the postponement of the tournament that was initially scheduled for the summer of 2020.

The heart of her concert, titled Victory of the Euro, should include the Italian National Police Orchestra, 24 large helium-inflated balloons to symbolize the participating teams, and a “vertical choreography” mixing dancers and rooftop hits from the stadium.

See also  Australian Open: Victoria Azarenka beat Elena Svitolina to advance to week two

Finally, Italian tenor Andrea Bocelli will perform the song “Nison Dorma” taken from Puccini’s opera Turandot, before a “virtual performance” by Martin Garrix, Bono and The Edge, U2 member and authors of the official Euro song, “We the People”.