NexTV Africa & Middle East

Complete News World

New opposition leaders after the election defeat |  GP

New opposition leaders after the election defeat | GP

Former Defense Minister Peter Dutton takes over the Conservative Liberal Party leadership after outgoing Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison. The 51-year-old MP is a former Queensland Police Officer. No other candidate was nominated in the process.

Earlier, it had been speculated that former Finance Minister Josh Frydenberg of Melbourne would take over, but those plans were scrapped after Frydenberg was expelled from Parliament against independent candidate Monique Ryan.

The Nationals, which is closely associated with the Liberals, also elected a new leader of the party. David Littleproud takes over from Barnaby Joyce.

Although it is clear that the coalition has lost power, it is still somewhat unclear whether the winners, the Social Democratic Action Party, will obtain their majority in Parliament. 76 seats are required in the House of Representatives, and the party has so far won 75 seats. The counting of votes is still underway in the remaining three constituencies, as it remains uncertain. However, according to the public service company ABC: s prognose Labor appears to be winning at least one of the three regions.

The Labor Party also previously gained support from some independent candidates who were elected to the House of Representatives, in order to form the government.

See also  The Finnish passenger flight from Israel landed in Stockholm