NexTV Africa & Middle East

Complete News World

Euro 2020: Italy scores last minute deal with Stefano Sensi

The Italian Football Federation announced today, Monday, that Italian midfielder Stefano Sensi, who suffered a setback on Thursday after a recent thigh injury, lost in the Euro Championship (June 11-July 11) and was replaced by Atalanta player Matteo Pesina.

Despite doubts over the form of Sensi, who was injured in Inter Milan’s last league match on May 23, coach Roberto Mancini last week kept him in his final 26-man squad.

But the 25-year-old Milan, who has suffered several injuries this season, felt new muscle pain during training last Thursday. His official kit, on Monday, was expected by the Italian Federation, four days before the opening match against Turkey, on Friday night in Rome.

“Stefano Sensi will remain with the group to continue starting treatment, then leave the gathering,” she said.

This last minute package is the joy of Matteo Pesina, 24, who has been “backup” since last week. He even appeared in the official photo last Wednesday with N.27 and was already on the score sheet during the last preparatory match she won against the Czech Republic (4-0) on Friday in Bologna.

The coaches had until June 1 to submit their final list to UEFA. But between this date and the first Euro match, they can still substitute a player in the event of “serious injury or illness”, medically approved.

Italy will start against Turkey on Friday at the Olympic Stadium in Rome, before meeting Switzerland on the 16th and then Wales on the 20th, still in the Eternal City.

Marco Verratti, another uncertain due to a right knee injury in early May with PSG, is still in the squad, although he shouldn’t be able to make the first match.

See also  'Little Negro': Nelson Piquet's racist remarks about Lewis Hamilton resurface

Here is the list of 26 Italian players:

Goalkeepers (3): Gianluigi Donnarumma (without a club), Alex Merritt (Napoli), Salvatore Sirigu (Turin).

Défenseurs (9): Francesco Acerbi (Lazio Rome), Alessandro Bastoni (Inter Milan), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus), Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus), Giovanni Di Lorenzo (Naples), Emerson Palmieri (Chelsea/ENG), Alessandro Florenzi (Paris) ). SG/FRA), Leonardo Spinazzola (Rome), Rafael Toloi (Atalanta Bergam).

Milieux de terrain (7): Niccol Barilla (Inter Milan), Brian Cristante (Rome), Jorginho (Chelsea / England), Manuel Locatelli (Sassuolo), Lorenzo Pellegrini (Roma), Matteo Pesina (Atalanta Bergam), Marco Verratti (Paris) SG/FRA).

Forwards (7): Andrea Belotti (Torino), Domenico Berardi (Sassuolo), Federico Bernardeschi (Juventus), Federico Chiesa (Juventus), Ciro Immobile (Lazio Roma), Lorenzo Insigne (Napoli), Giacomo Rasbadori (Sassuolo).