NexTV Africa & Middle East

Complete News World

The European Union and the Eastern Partnership are deepening cooperation

The Eastern Partnership was launched by Sweden and Poland in 2009 to deepen relations between the European Union and six countries in Eastern Europe and the South Caucasus. The summit will be attended by heads of state and government of partner countries Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine, along with leaders of European Union countries.

The Eastern Partnership aims to promote democracy, prosperity, and peaceful and resilient societies with responsible institutions that enjoy the confidence of citizens. In addition, the partnership plays a special role in times of security policy challenges in the region, and is therefore a strategically important community. Within the framework of the partnership, there are in-depth cooperation and agreements on, for example, trade and visa-free travel for Georgia, Ukraine and Moldova.

The Heads of State and Government of the European Union and Partner Countries are expected to support the proposed priorities for the next five years. There are social and economic investments here to counter the effects of the Covid19 pandemic, as well as support democratic reforms.

For the government, it is fundamental to continue to enhance the resilience of partner countries, contribute to the green transition and support digitalization. The government attaches importance to reforms to promote democratic principles, human rights, rule of law, good governance, and gender equality.

Belarus has currently suspended its participation in the Partnership, but the EU’s support for Belarusian civil society remains, as well as support for justice and free elections in the country.

In a video below, Ambassador Anna Westerholm tells more about the Eastern Partnership.

See also  Angela Merkel's archenemy may take revenge